BAEN Alumni Awarded at Annual ASABE Meeting

Several Biological and Agricultural Engineering alumni were recognized for outstanding achievement at the 2018 Annual Meeting of the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) in July.

Yufeng Ge ’07 is the recipient of the New Holland Young Researcher Award. Ge received the award in recognition of his work developing sensing technologies to monitor plant stress. Yufeng earned his doctoral degree in the department, and subsequently was appointed a Research Assistant Professor while working with Dr. Alex Thomasson. After moving to the University of Nebraska – Lincoln as an Assistant Professor specializing on sensing technologies, Ge has received three million dollars in research grants as principal investigator, plus another 15 million dollars as co-principal investigator.

Ge receiving his New Holland Young Researcher Award from Dr. Searcy.

Thomas Marek ’75 received the John Deere Gold Medal (the most prestigious award given by ASABE) for his outstanding contributions to the advancement of lysimetry, evapotranspiration, irrigation system technologies, and water resource management in agriculture. Marek earned his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in the department and continues his work with Texas A&M AgriLife Research facility in Amarillo. Through his work, Marek has contributed to reducing the amount of water required to produce corn by 60% and increasing productivity by 40%.


James P. Bordovsky ’76 was awarded the 2018 Mayfield Cotton Engineering Award for his outstanding contributions to cotton production through applied research in irrigation technology and best management practices. Bordovsky, B.S and M.S. graduate in Agricultural Engineering, is a senior research scientist and agricultural engineer at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research Center in Lubbock and Halfway. His research includes all aspects of water use and irrigation efficiency through improved management and engineering design of the irrigation systems. Through his innovation, Bordovsky has greatly increased productivity, sustainability, and profitability of agricultural environments where water is limited.

From left: Dr. Searcy,  Thomas Marek, James Bordovsky, and Maury Salz (new ASABE President).


Garey A. Fox ’98 was the recipient of the ADS/Hancor Soil and Water Award for advancements and improved understanding of surface water and groundwater interactions. Garey earned his B.S. and M.S. degrees at Texas A&M. As the department head of North Carolina State University’s Biological and Agricultural Engineering department, Fox oversees research, extension, and teaching programs. The focus of Fox’s research is the fundamental processes involving transport of sediment, nutrients, and pathogens by both surface and subsurface pathways.

Fox receiving his award from Dr. Searcy.


Article by Jessica Schaeffer

For details about this news story and others please contact Stormy Kretzschmar,

Comments are closed.